London Boroughs


The London boroughs are administrative divisions of Greater London - units of local goverment responsible for most of the local public services. Greater London is made up of 32 boroughs and the City of London. The City of London, also known as the square mile due to its tiny area is in the very centre of Greater London and but is not actually a borough. Traditionally it was the centre of the royal government and today is London's principle financial district. The City of London has its own local goverment - the Corporation of London.

Of the 32 London boroughs, 12 (and the City of London) make up inner London: Camden, Greenwich, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Lambeth, Lewisham, Southwark, Tower Hamlets, Wandsworth and Westminster. The remaining 20 boroughs make up outer London.

610 square miles (1579 kmĀ²)