Created in 1965 when Camberwell and Bermondsey were merged with the existing Southwark borough, today's Southwark is a magnet to tourists and locals alike.

Southwark is the borough which contains the majority of the south bank of the Thames in central London, and within this area lie some of the city's most well-known landmarks.

London's South Bank has been made famous by the National Theatre and, in more recent times,Tate Modern, the London Eye and the Millenium Bridge, but throughout the borough are tourist attractions of all sorts: HMS Belfast and the Imperial War Museum for those interested in Britain's military past, the recently reconstructed Globe Theatre and even the original 'Mayflower' that the Pilgrim Fathers used to voyage to the New World.

Famous residents of the borough include: author Charles Dickens, the renowned scientist Michael Farraday, silent movie legend Charlie Chaplin and the original Globe's very own William Shakespeare.

London Boroughs